Comparison · Evaluation
MCP-Native Agent Eval vs SDK-Traced Hosted Agent Judge Platform.
TL;DR
Iris grades what an agent did with its tools — the trace, the answer, the cost — not whether an MCP server honours its own contract; a server test harness answers that question, and Iris runs beside it. For the method, see the agent eval guide.
Feature comparison
13 features, the same 13 on every comparison. Every Judgment Labs cell links the page it was read from and the date; where the sentence it was read from was found verbatim on a plain download of that page (checked 2026-09-21), the link carries it as its title, and where it was not, the cell says so. The highlighted cells are Iris's own call on which side is stronger for a team running MCP agents — 4 to Iris, 2 to Judgment Labs — not a measurement.
| Feature | Iris | Judgment Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Integration method | One block in the MCP config, no code — the agent discovers Iris and its tools on connect | Python/TypeScript SDK (install judgeval): Tracer.init, Tracer.wrap on provider clients, Tracer.observe on custom codeJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Self-hosting | One process, one SQLite file; Docker image with a health check | Hosted platform only; self-hosting is listed as coming soonJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Where it runs | Nothing in the agent's process — Iris is a separate server the agent calls | In-process SDK built on OpenTelemetry, initialized in every process that creates spans; exports to JudgmentJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Evaluation | 26 built-in deterministic rules and 9 custom-rule types, in-process; 7 judge templates on a key you supply; every rule's precision and recall published | Agent Judge follows a natural-language rubric; Code Judge runs your Python; outputs tracked as behaviors online/offlineJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Cost tracking | Per-trace USD cost and tokens; a cost spike judged against the agent's own history | Provider instrumentation captures token usage and cost; the traces table exposes a cost column per trace and spanJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| MCP support | Protocol-native — Iris is an MCP server with 12 tools; OTLP traces in | Hosted MCP server (mcp.judgmentlabs.ai) with OAuth for Cursor, Claude Code, Windsurf, Codex; tools query traces, create judges, run tests and evaluate tracesJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| License | MIT, the whole package | judgeval SDK is Apache-2.0; the Judgment platform is hosted and proprietary (self-hosting listed as coming soon)Judgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Ownership | Independent and founder-led | Judgment, Inc. (Judgment Labs), San Francisco; VC-backed, $32M across Seed and Series A led by Lightspeed, announced 2026-05-12Judgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Dashboard | A local dashboard on its own port: traces, moments, regressions, five views | Web UI: Traces table (previews, exceptions, judges, duration, cost), Conversation/Tree views, Judges and Behaviors pagesJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Framework support | Any MCP client (2 verified, 8 claimed — see /clients); OTLP/HTTP from anything else | LangGraph, OpenAI Agents SDK, Claude Agent SDK, Google ADK, Vercel AI SDK; OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, Bedrock, LiteLLMJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Prompt management | Not included | Versioned prompts on the platform with commit IDs and tags (e.g. production), fetched via the SDK; CLI deprecatedJudgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Enterprise and compliance | Self-hosted. Nothing leaves your machine unless you turn one of these on: an OpenTelemetry endpoint (IRIS_OTEL_ENDPOINT), which exports traces to the collector you name; the LLM judge with your own key, which sends the text it judges to that provider, and whose citation check fetches the pages an output cites; or a webhook, which posts ids, the verdict and rule names, never the text, to the address you set. No compliance certification is claimed before it is held | Not stated in the vendor's documentation as of 2026-10-01Judgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
| Cost to run | Free — MIT, one process on your machine; the only spend is a judge call on a key you supply, when you opt in | Not stated in the vendor's pages read on 2026-10-01Judgment Labs's page · read 2026-10-01 |
Decision guide
FAQ
Every Judgment Labs statement on this page was read from one of these pages on the date shown. The file behind this page is website/src/lib/compare/judgment.json.
Last verified: 2026-10-01. This comparison is based on publicly available documentation and may not reflect recent changes to Judgment Labs. We aim to keep this page accurate and fair.
See something outdated or incorrect? Report an inaccuracy — we review and update within 48 hours.
Add Iris to your MCP config. First trace in 60 seconds. No SDK, no signup, no infrastructure.